Town of Silistra
Silistra - the ancient Durostorum, known in history as Dorostol and Drustar, is a town with nearly 2000 years of history. For the first time, the name Durostorum (translated "mighty fortress") was mentioned in 105 AD.
The town and the region have preserved remarkable monuments of cultural and historical heritage. There are many ruins of Roman and Medieval fortresses, churches, residences and buildings from the 2nd to the 15th century. Here is one of Europe's most valuable ancient tombs with unique frescoes from the 4th century.
The biosphere reserve by the village of Srebarna is situated at a distance of 16 km west from Silistra (15min by car).
During the Age of the First Bulgarian Kingdom under the rule of Khan Omurtag in Drustar, the "Orthodox House of the Danube" was built. Here was the seat of the first Bulgarian Patriarch Damyan Dorostolski (Drustarski).
Today the traces of the ancient past are exhibited and form the National Architectural and Archaeological Reserve "Durostorum - Drustar - Silistra", which can be found on the bank of the Danube River.
Silistra was the first Bulgarian town liberated by the Soviet army. In honour of that day (10th February, 1878) there is a monument which was built in the past and is now located near the Danube River. It is a stone composition representing several Soviet soldiers. An authentic Soviet tank T-34 from the period of World War II is located near it.
The Art Gallery in Silistra is located in the town centre. The building was built for the pedagogical heritage of the town in the period 1890 - 1891. Over 1500 works of art (paintings, graphics, sculpture, etc.) of many great Bulgarian artists such as Vladimir Dimitrov, Dechko Uzunov, Zlatyu Boyadzhiev and others are currently exhibited in the gallery.
The city clock with its 125 years of history is located on the top of the building of the Art Gallery. The clock is on the high dome and it was made by a Czech clockmaker. It has four clock-faces - each with a diameter of 1 meter pointing towards the four main directions of the world. The watch is mechanical - it works with a chain with two opposite weights, 50 kilograms each, and the height of the mechanism from the bottom to the top is 12 meters. A single winding of the mechanism is enough for the clock to work for three days.
Medzhidi Tabia fortress
The fortress was built during the period 1841 - 1853. It is named after Sultan Abdul Medzhid, who during the construction in 1847 visited the fortress and was very interested in it. What make this fortress unique are the underground tunnels that come from the hill leading to key locations on the other side of the town. The fortress wall has the shape of a hexagon and reaches 8 meters height. A ditch was dug next to it which served for both obstruction and concealment. It was completed at the time of the regional governor Said Pasha, on the eve of the Crimean War.